D&D Mixed Reviews: Transfomers: Age of Extinction

Transformers: Age of Extinction was distributed by Paramount Pictures.

Transformers: Age of Extinction was distributed by Paramount Pictures.

It’s that time again; yes time for another Transformers film directed by everyone’s favourite director, Michael Bay. This time the franchise has some new faces and voices. But do they improve the overall product? Or is it just as generic as it was when Shia LaBeouf was around?

As always myself and Denis will be looking at the film in four categories; plot, performances, production and overall film quality. So let’s see if this film is more than meets the eye (cause that’s the first time someone’s made that joke).

Here’s a run down of the films basic plot:

Transformers: Age of Extinction takes place several years after the events of Dark of the Moon with most American’s fearing the return of the Transformers after the battle in Chicago.

Now the remaining Transformers are being hunted by a US Black Ops group known as Cemetery Wind. The group is led by CIA agent Harold Attinger (Kelsey Grammer) who enlists the help of another alien known as Lockdown (Mark Ryan). The two enter an agreement; if Lockdown captures the hidden Optimus Prime (Peter Weller) then he’ll give Attinger and businessman Joshua Joyce (Stanley Tucci) the Seed.

This seed would make it possible for the two to make Transformium, a new element that allows Joyce to build his own robotic fighting force.

Prime is hidden away in Texas running away from the government, warning the rest of the Autobots of their new enemy. While looking for salvage Cade Yeager (Mark Wahlberg) finds the broken down Transformer and revives him. Shortly after Yeager and his family are made fugitives as the CIA and Cemetery Wind try to track them down and capture Prime.

Now the Yeager’s and the surviving Autobots; Prime, Hound (John Goodman), Drift (Ken Watanabe), Crosshairs (John DiMaggio) and Bumblebee must stop the Cemetery Wind, the company that are building an army as well as Lockdown.

Plot:

While the plot is a bit complicated it’s also promising. At its heart AOE has an interesting story, unfortunately it doens’t know what to do with it and the rest of the film gets in the way. Much of the film is spent dealing with an uninteresting Father-Daughter dynamic that plaques whole sections of the film. Additionally the film’s script is very bottom heavy with the majority of the important plot landing near the end of the film. That being said there are times when the film picks up and is interesting, they’re just few and fair between.

I keep asking myself, how did it happen? I can’t remember the exact cause. After a busy week I texted my friend and he responded with an offer to see a movie. Naturally I wanted to do something fun so I didn’t hesitate. I accepted the offer. It was only when I looked over the proposition that I discovered what I had done. I promised to see Transformers Age of Extinction. It seemed so bizarre, so, unlike me. But there it was, my signature on my death certificate.

Performances:

I’ll make this short; everyone short of Tucci and Goodman are bad. While I was hoping for some hilarious Wahlberg moments, this time his performance is flat and uninspired. The same could be said for the rest of the live action cast however, both Tucci and Goodman seem to have fun playing their roles. Goodman as the oversized commando Hound added some life to the character making him the only Transformer with any real personality short of Bumblebee’s not talking gimmick from the other films. Tucci does something similar by turning the camp up to 11 giving the schlock performance of a life time. Seriously, Tucci yelling at things is funny, it’s a gift that comes in handy for films like this.

I remember the first Transformers movie like an ever present nightmare. The sound, the picture, so violent and desperate. Like a small child wanting candy in a grocery store. It was all so jumbled and messy. Jokes” happened. “Action” happened. I was left confused about the world. It left a harsh enough impression that hearing the word Transformer would put me off, and so I never saw the sequels that followed. Until now.

Production:

Have you seen a Transformers film? Then you get the point. It’s loud, explosive and empty inside. While there are some interesting shots ultimately the majority of the film is uninspired. I did on one hand like the GoPro shots used during some of the vehicle scenes. I know they used GoPro’s cause the camera’s shadow made a few cameos during the action scenes. Other than that, there isn’t a lot to say, it’s dumb. At least Bay didn’t reuse a bunch of his old footage this time.

But here I was, stepping up to the ticket seller and saying “one for Transformers Age of Extinction”. It felt like salt in my mouth, like the last words of a man marked for death. I knew what was happen, but I also had no idea. I kept saying to myself, but there are new leads, the Dinobots are in it, and he’s had so many bad ones maybe he’ll change. How naive I was to the world, or simple want to embrace naïveté before harsh reality would grind it’s boot on my soul. When it started, the Symphony of Chaos, my ears were riddled with pain. Then the Showcase of Visual Depravity began and my eyes grew weak. To save my shrinking soul I pushed it deep down away from the pulsating wreckwave the film was throwing at its audience. I became a shell of a man, comatose inside the theatre. This sacrifice gave me life, gave me a way to survive the ordeal and live another day. To see the sun, to feel the rain and to hear the sweet sound of the wind. I left that abomination determined to live my life free of horrid filmmaking and embrace the beautiful! I am free! And there’s nothing you can do about it!

Overall:

This movie suffers from bad direction, poor acting and unoriginal script writing. That being said, and I hate to admit it, I had fun watching it. Certain scenes were so ridicules that it almost seemed like the film was making fun of itself. However, that doesn’t make up for the bad, and there’s a lot of it here. It’s because of this I can’t recommend this film. PASS.

Basically it f*cking sucked, AVOID IF YOU HAVE A SOUL!

Transformers: Age of Extinction was directed by Michael Bay and written by Ehren Kruger using characters owned by Hasbro. The film was produced by Paramount Pictures, di Bonaventur Pictures, Hasbro, China Movie Channel and Jiaflix Enterprises. Paramount also disturbed the film.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

